Schneider National Inc. Recognizes Carrier Excellence at Third Annual Conference


Green Bay, Wis.Oct. 7, 2005Schneider National Inc., a premier provider of transportation, logistics and related services, honored more than 20 carriers at the companys annual Carrier Recognition Conference on September 20, 2005, at historic Lambeau Field. The daylong event featured keynote presentations from industry leaders, an awards ceremony recognizing Schneiders top-performing carriers and a networking reception.

More than 100 carriers from across North America came from all modes of transportation to attend the conference and discuss industry issues impacting their businesses, including the ongoing driver shortage, rising fuel costs and how the current state of the economy will affect the future of transportation. Professor Michael Economides from the University of Houston delivered a presentation concerned with the cost of fuel and Martin Bernstein, transportation operations director for J.C. Penney Co., discussed the future challenges that the transportation industry will face. An overview of the current state of the economy was given by Don Broughton, vice president and senior analyst of A.G. Edwards & Sons.

Schneider Logistics honored twelve carriers with Carrier of the Year awards based on on-time performance, ease of doing business, claims performance, e-business capabilities and integration. Schneiders Intermodal division recognized seven providers with Carrier of the Year awards and five carriers received the same honor from Schneider Transportation Management.

Hosting the Carrier Recognition Conference is a privilege for Schneider, said Todd Ericksrud, vice president, customer and provider services at Schneider Logistics. The event provides industry leaders opportunities for discussion and industry updates, and is a great venue for recognizing the outstanding service that our carriers deliver to our clients.

2005 award winners include:

Schneider Logistics Carriers of the Year: Central Transport (Detroit); Chopper Express, (Montville, N.J.); Diamond Transportation System, Inc. (Racine, Wis.); Hunt Transportation (Lincoln, Neb.); Merchants Forwarding Company (Melvindale, Mich.); Ottaway Motor Express Ltd. (Richmond Hill, Ontario); Roadlink USA Midwest LLC (Bethlehem, Pa.); Ryan Transportation Inc. (Livonia, Mich.); Standard Forwarding Company (East Moline, Ill.); The Connection Company (Columbus, Ohio); Triple Crown Services (Fort Wayne, Ind.) and TST Overland Express (Mississauga, Ontario).

Schneider Intermodal Carriers of the Year: ARL Florida (Coraopolis, Pa.); Avery & Avery International (Walnut, Calif.); Diamond Logistics (Edison, N.J.); Moore Trucking (Fort Smith, Ark.); Polyak Distributors (Menomonee Falls, Wis.); Shippers Transport Express (Carson, Calif.) and TDS Time Dispatch (Brampton, Ontario).

Schneider Transportation Management Carriers of the Year: Barr-Nunn Transportation (Granger, Iowa); Boss Logistics, Inc. (Braidwood, Ill.); Go To Transport (Bay City, Mich.); Heartland Express (Coralville, Iowa) and Lake Shore Pacific Corp. (Santa Clara, Calif.).