Marten honors it's latest "Mile Millionaires"


RELEASE DATE: April 22, 2005

MONDOVI, Wis. -- Marten Transport, Ltd. honored nearly three dozen drivers with induction into its exclusive Million Mile Club at a special ceremony Saturday, April 16 at the Holiday Inn Campus Area in Eau Claire, Wis. The event, celebrating the outstanding achievements of 34 men and women who have demonstrated extraordinary care, dedication and perseverance in over-the-road driving, was attended by nearly 200 individuals.

The Million Mile Club is the highest honor Marten Transport bestows on its drivers. To be eligible for induction, drivers must accumulate at least a million miles of accident free driving with Marten Transport. This year 25 drivers qualified for the Million Mile Club and an additional nine more met the requirements for the Two Million Mile Club. Since introducing the program 1997, more then 300 Marten Transport drivers have been honored with this noteworthy and exclusive distinction.

Below is a list of drivers (with their hometowns listed in parenthesis) who were honored at the ceremony.

One Million Mile Club: Chuck Adkins (Newburyport, MA), Billy Baker (Radcliff, KY), Dick Benson (Fairchild, WI), George Bouchard (Riverside, RI), Patricia Brim (Minerva, OH), Randy Brim (Minerva, OH), Lee Demere (Bejou, MN), Tyler Dorsey (Decatour, GA), Doug Garber (Maryville, IL), Ralph Harvey (Noblesville, IN), Bob Head (Griffin, GA), Dale Henderson (Rice Lake, WI), Robert Horne (Easley, SC), Marty Jensen (Shady Grove, OR), John Lattig (Holladay, TN), William Lauderdale (Giolenda, IL), Mark Love (Taylors, SC), Dwayne Payton (Phoenix, AZ), Marshall Platter (Houston, TX), Robert Stevens (Ephrata, WA), Charlie Tederman (Olympia, WA), William Thomas (Allentown, PA), Bertram Walker (Kingman, AZ), Ken White (Springfield, CO) and Gerald Wong (White Swan, WA).

Two Million Mile Club: Jeff Smith (New Castle, KY), Tracy Gorden (Bayton, TX), Lloyd Jones (Blue River, OR), Lonny Stacey (Carlton, OR), Fred Williams (Fairfield, CA), Paul Bartlett (Montrose, MN), Phineas Schrock (Greenwood, WV), Tony Myers (Keizer, OR) and Mark Freeman (Mesa, AZ).